Home News APC Primaries: Six aspirants resist outcome in Taraba

APC Primaries: Six aspirants resist outcome in Taraba


APC Primaries: Six aspirants resist outcome in Taraba

Jethro Yerga, Jalingo

Six aspirants of the All Progressives Congress, APC in Taraba State Friday, resisted the outcome of the gubernatorial Primaries in Taraba State where Senator Emmanuel Bwacha was declared winner by the Chairman of the Electoral Committee of the election, Mr Lawrence Onuchukwu.

The aspirant had consequently, vowed to take other means to solve their problem if the National leadership of the party failed to act fast and address the purported declaration of Senator Emmanuel Bwacha as the elected flagbearer of the party in the gubernatorial primaries of the party in Taraba State.

The six aspirants, Distinguished Senator Yusuf Abubakar Yusuf, Professor Sani Yahaya, Chief David Sabo Kente, Engr. Sale Mamma, Hon. Danladi Yeremia Kifasi and Senator Manzo during a press conference in Jalingo expressed shock that Senator Emmanuel Bwacha was declared winner of an election which they said did not hold.

Led by Distinguished Senator Ahmed Abubarkar Yusuf, the six aspirants at the Press Conference, maintained that the chairman of the Electoral Committee, Mr. Lawrence Onuchukwu who had made the declaration was acting on the directives of some desperate members of the party who are hungry for power.

“Gentlemen of the press, you were there at the Police Headquatters when the chairman of the Congress Committee announced that there was no election and that he did not authorized any election in the state.

“We Only wake up this morning to hear that Senator Emmanuel Bwacha has won the Primary election. We want to reaffirm that there was no election in the state and there was no approval for any election.

“As far as we know, there was no duress whatsoever as claimed by Mr. Lawrence. This is because we were at the State Police Headquarters when Mr. Lawrence Onuchukwu announced that there were no elections and he had not approved for any elections.

“We want to inform you that we will follow it up with the internal processes of the party and act in accordance with the electoral act of 2022.

“We will exhaust all the avenues as loyal members of the party. We want to follow all these processes to be part of this party. however, if the National leadership of the Party is not prepared to accommodate the interest of the majority of the people of APC in Taraba State, we will think of other means of solving our problem.

“The six of us here are in unity and without fear. We are not going back in the struggle. The National Leadership must come and do election for the people to clearly vote for who they want to have as their candidate of the APC for the general elections.

“We don’t mind, any one of us that may emerge because all of us are capable. But they should follow due process of the law”. They stated.

The guber aspirants who said the National Leadership of the party should be hold responsible for any thing that may led to a fall out in the party, vowed that they would do everything absolutely necessary to protect the interest of the people of APC in Taraba State.

Recall that the Chairman of the Primary Election Committee, Lawrence Onuchukwu, had on Thursday night at the Police Headquatters Jalingo, suspended all Primary Elections of the APC in the state indefinitely.

However, in the early hours of Friday, he organized a Press Conference at Suntai Airport, Jalingo, where he stated categorically that he was made to declare that there was no election in Taraba State under duress.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Need Help? Chat with us!
Start a Conversation
Hi! Click one of our members below to chat on WhatsApp
We usually reply in a few minutes